You’re a God who has all things, and still you want me.


So God works in crazy, unexpected ways. This evening, he made himself known while I was taking a shower. As all of us do, I listen to music while I shower and sing at the top of my lungs! I hadn’t heard this particular song in a while, and the words nailed my heart as I was singing them.

I Need You to Love Me by BarlowGirl. First, let me say this. God never ceases to teach. Christians never stop learning. No matter how long or short you’ve been a christian, God is constantly showing you something new or he’ll refresh your memory in an area in which you have become stagnant. For me, it was the latter.

We are told constantly that God loves us. It sounds so cliche, so typical. But I was reminded of this outpouring, passionate, grace-full, selfless thing called love that Christ really has for us. Personally, I have been selfish with my time. I haven’t been spending near enough time with my Creator. I have become stagnant. And as I realized this, I realized that–He loves me still. He loves me when I’m ugly, beautiful, clean, dirty, first, last, and imperfect. This alone is awe-striking. He’s loves us everyday all day with a love that is so real and deep that there is no way we could ever grasp it’s magnificence. To put is mildly, he is crazy in love with us! How do we know that? Because, like my favorite line in the song says, “[He’s] a God who has all things, and still [He] wants me.”

Me.

He knows my weaknesses, my strengths, my failures, my successes, my every thought, my every action, and who I really am. And The King of Kings loves me. Unconditionally. Perfectly. Selflessly. Wholly.

And I needed that tonight. Everyone knows they are loved, but sometimes it’s wonderful to be reminded that my father, my love, my teacher, my friend, my God loves me. Thanks for that God :)

“For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8: 38-39

One comment


Leave a Reply

