Oh, Epitome…


I love to write–as I’ve said a few times here–and I had an epitome today in my English Seminar on Women Across Borders. We were reading Emily Dickinson’s poem (#303) and analyzing it like any regular poetry analysis. This is strange that I thought of this while focusing on this poem because it was like any other poem and it didn’t really have any significance or meaning to me personally.

Nonetheless, I realized the beauty in what we were doing for an hour and a half. Poetry is not made to bluntly get across a certain point. It is beautiful in the fact that it is mysterious. You must dig into it’s very word, imagery, language, and diction to figure out the theme and point the author is trying to get across. Otherwise, why would it be so special as to be called a poem?

Now don’t get me wrong, there are many poems that are straightforward yet still great because of how flowing and perfect the arrangement and style is.

But as for me personally, I’ve been trying to write bluntly as if to simply make a statement and not to lure you in to figure out what I’m trying to say. I’m not great with words as it is and I have most definitely not been mysterious.

And I realized that today.

So I need to change this! I’ll be working on a new poem soon and will hopefully make you want to analyze and read more.

For what is Shakespeare if he didn’t use such intricate language in which every single word has meaning?

I have many revelations that just fuel one of my all time favorite quotes by Albert Einstein, and this revelation in particular is no different.

“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: his eyes are closed.”

I want my words and expressions in my writing–and anything I do really–to make people pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe.

In all things, love.

One comment

  1. Nice post; your words are inspiring! I like your suggestion that poetry is beauitful because of its character, not because of, necessarily, what it does. Stay inspired!


Leave a Reply

