When they least deserve it


So Sunday I decided to take a break from Facebook for a week. I just get on it waaaaaaaay too much and I could use a little breathing time and to spend more time in God’s word. Because I’m not always on Facebook anymore, I’ve been Stumbling a lot. (Using Stumble Upon, which is addicting ahaha…) I stumbled on a picture that had a quote that I really loved and made me think:

A lot of these kinds of quotes seem so cheesy, but when you really read this one, it’s not cheesy at all. Actually, it’s very true. In relationships especially, but also with everyday people.

Think about it… when you run into a very rude or mean person, what do you usually do? Almost automatically, our brains switch to “I-didn’t-do-anything-to-you-for-you-to-be-mean-to-me-so-now-I’m-going-to-give-you-a-taste-of-your-own-medicine” mode. We change our attitude towards them and are mean right back. But next time you run into someone like this, just think about this–if there was nothing bad or wrong going on in their life, they would have no reason to be rude or short-tempered. They would be happy. But are they? No. Put the two together. Something is more than likely going on with them and although they might be taking it out on you, the thing they need most at that time is love. We are called to love! Even when someone may seem like they don’t deserve it. Did we deserve Jesus Christ living a sinless life and dying the most painful death for all our dirty, messed up sins? No! But because of Him loving us when we least deserved it provided a way for us to live eternally with Him in Heaven.

So, love someone today. Maybe they’ll see the love you have and wonder what makes you different. You may be the first to introduce to them who Jesus is through your counter-cultural actions.

As I always say and I leave you with today,

in all things–yep, you got it–love.

Leave a Reply

