It’s the Final(s) Frontier


Wow, I can’t believe it’s already the end of the semester! One more class and one final and I’m done. I’ve had such a great experience here at TCU. I’ve made some truly awesome friends and met some amazing people, my artistic eyes have really been opened and my professors have challenged me like none other, and all in all I’ve learned so much more than I could have ever expected. I’ve definitely grown and will take a lot from my year at TCU from here on out.

So, I’ve done quite a few projects this past semester and I’m sorry to inform you that I haven’t had much time to blog about it all although I wish I could have! (But hey, I’ve got a wedding to plan ;)) So I figured I’d share with you a few of my Final projects I just turned in/had critiques over…

First, in my Photography class we simply had to choose 12-15 of our best works and mount them all and just turn them into her in our portfolio. You can see the images online HERE. I’m so sad I have to give up the beloved camera I borrowed this semester! I use it all the time and am just gonna have to get me one sometime! haha…

In my 3D Design class our final had to do with Braising (It’s kind of like welding). We were told to construct a bridge of our choice that was 18″-24″ long. I did the Sydney Harbor Bridge and I am SO satisfied with how it turned out! I’ve never braised before but it was a really fun experience. I loved figuring things out as I went, finding the best methods and shortcuts, and especially getting to play with fire :D. On the other hand, we didn’t have a lot of time for this project and it was excruciatingly time consuming, especially since I had soooooo many little pieces and detailing. I used steel rods for the majority of it, solder for the vertical “cables”, basswood for the pillars, and balsa wood for the road, which broke and rebroke about 13 times…If you’ve ever worked with balsa wood I think you’ll agree when I say…I HATE it. lol

It was intense and pretty crazy, but I must say I’m proud ;)

And I’m so glad to be done with that! hahaha…

For my Illustration final, we had to recreate a children’s book wrap. If you know me, you can assume that I was ECSTATIC about this project in particular–and you’re so right! I did “Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon” (Click for a picture of the original book) and I loved the whole process. The watercolor is great and the Prismacolors did wonders!!! :)

This book was also very inspiring to me as a kid :)

And lastly, for my Vis Comm final we had to turn in our sketchbooks which we had been doing all year. Mine is actually in the professor’s possession at the moment, so when I get it back I will elaborate on it more in another post.

Like I said, TCU has been great, and I’m so ready for the adventure ahead. University of Alaska Anchorage, GET READY! ;)

Until next time,
In all things, love…

One comment

  1. You never cease to amaze me!! I will never know where you got your talent from…..and I always look forward to what you are going to do next. I’m glad that you had this year at TCU, and like you, I think it grew you!! I love you!!


Leave a Reply

