I Put On Christ


I’ve been convicted for the past couple weeks about something that hasn’t been as much on my mind and put into action as it needs to be. There’s a song called “I Put On Christ” by Laura Hackett, and it’s a battle song. This song focuses on the spiritual battle we as Christians face EVERYDAY. And yet to have victory at the end of the day, we need to put on the Armor of God every morning.

I don’t do this. I don’t focus on preparing myself for the battle. I should be a warrior and I’m sitting back being a spectator. I’m not stirring up hearts as much or as boldly as I should be. I should wake up in the morning and know that I will face many hardships and obstacles that day, and I need to get ready for war, because it is GUARANTEED that I will be right in the middle of the action. Which is right where I want to be.

All these things I’ve always known I need to be doing, but I think it’s become “comfortable” for me to make excuses, sometimes unconsciously, because that’s naturally the easiest way. No confrontation, no stepping outside my bubble. But did Jesus live like that??? Did he, who gave himself for OUR sins, live comfortably?! Are my brothers and sisters, who are in countries where they could be tortured for worshiping God, hiding and giving up? I’m INSULTING my King by sitting back while there is a raging devil on the loose.

I haven’t been putting on the belt of truth, breastplate of righteousness, gospel of peace, shield of faith, helmet of salvation, or the sword of the Spirit. And it’s been costly. (Read Ephesians 6:10-20)

I choose to fight. I will consciously do so every morning. I don’t want to sleep through this battle. I don’t want to be defenseless. I’m a warrior and I won’t be sitting on the bench anymore.

There is a war to be won.


Leave a Reply

