So Let Us Come Boldly to the Throne


Ephesians 2:8-9 says: For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.

This is such a beautiful verse. I remember memorizing it as our verse being a Chum in Awana. Ever since, this verse has graciously came to mind in many situations. As a girl who grew up in a Christian home and began following Jesus at the age of five, I have known what it means to “be a Christian” for a while. And although I know I haven’t been welcomed to the kingdom because of works, I tend to focus on this concept subconsciously. I think, “God is a God of grace to save an unworthy person like me! Now what can I do to repay Him?” And that very question is what my mind tends to settle on all too often. What works can I do to be worthy for such an amazing God?

Lately, I’ve been realizing something I’ve known all along, but never really fully surrendered. The bottom line is–I can never, ever, be worthy or adequate or sufficient enough for what God has done for me. And He knows this! But the beauty of it? He still wants me, loves me, and pursues me. His GRACE is what saved me when I was five, and it has saved me everyday since then. His grace. Not the offering I put in the bucket from my allowance, not the kid I played with on the mission trip, not even how often I read my bible! While these things are great and are a by-product of being a Christian, this isn’t my point. My point is, as His child, He doesn’t want to see me scurrying around frantically trying to repay him, bringing him all these gifts and checkmarks. All he wants is…me. Just me. And that right there is a realization that brings me so much peace, and makes me feel so desired as the daughter of a King. This is our God! He is a God of grace and mercy and unconditional love and sacrifice. How unfathomable is that? To know we don’t need to measure up to His love or repay Him. It is the gift of God. And that gift was given to this unworthy ragamuffin with more grace than I could ever imagine.

 

” What a stunning truth! ‘Justification by grace through faith’ is the theologian’s learned phrase for ‘the furious love of God.’ He is not moody or capricious; He knows no seasons of change. He has a single relentless stance toward us: He loves us.”

 

Leave a Reply

