Sketches 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10…PHEW.


So I have been a little slack-ish on posting these, but except for a couple I have been on time with my sketches. I didn’t like the idea of ever catching up on sketches but that’s what happened a couple times. Hopefully it won’t happen again!

Now to the good stuff. The peeks!

Sketch 6: This sketch was a difficult one in the sense that I couldn’t get much inspiration, so I felt like it turned out mediocre because I didn’t really have a set goal in mind for how it was going to turn out. When I don’t have anything to go off of (a song, words, other inspiration) my sketches don’t really go anywhere. Maybe you’d have a different opinion of it though!

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetSketch 7: This was one I had to catch up on, since my family was down for Christmas I wasn’t really thinking about the project! But I did know what I wanted to do. At church, the theme this Christmas was “All is Bright” and I wanted to draw from that and have fun with it.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetSketch 8: Happy New Cheerth! My inspiration for the type here was Nathan Yoder, who does some awesome ink illustrations and lettering. I had a lot of fun with this one! I keep questioning if I took it too far with a couple aspects, but overall I’m happy with it. I’ll definitely be exploring this style more.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
Sketch 9: Another catch-up piece. I am getting a tattoo in a week and I wanted to explore the style of the art that will be my tattoo. While I like my version here, I don’t want it to be what’s tattooed on me. It’s odd, but—depending on the situation—I don’t think I would want my own designs as my tattoo.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
Sketch 10: Self portrait. I try to do one as often as possible, to keep my technical skills up and it’s a personal record of myself. I always enjoy doing these, as I did this time. I had a hard time deciding whether or not to use ink over the pencil, but for now it’s staying a graphite drawing. As you’ve seen throughout this project, one of my biggest struggles is knowing when to stop, or when a drawing is complete or when it needs to be taken further.

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetWell I’m going strong. And I’ll keep at it! I am proud of myself for sticking with it for so long. Now I just have to get better at posting here ;)

10 down, 42 to go. #52sketches

Leave a Reply

